Course At a Glance
Experience Level: None required
Classroom Time: 4-5 hours
Range Time: 1-2 hours
Weapon Requirements: None – provided by us as part of your tuition
Ammo Requirements: None – provided by us as part of your tuition
Other Equipment Needed: None
Minimum Age: 21+
Cost: $70 (Includes everything: training materials, training, range fees, ammo, firearm rental, and refreshments)
Summary of Topics We Will Cover
- All state-mandated course content
- Applicable Firearms Laws
- Shoot / No Shoot Scenarios
- Firearms Safety & Handling
- Firearms Types
- Weapon Loading & Unloading
- Shooting Fundamentals
- Written Exam
- Required range qualification
Training Course Content
This is an 8 hour course intended to present the State of Tennessee’s standards for obtaining a Handgun Carry Permit. An Enhanced Permit is still required to carry a handgun outside of Tennessee.
This class is also available for those who want to increase their skills with a handgun and understand applicable laws but are not interested in obtaining their carry permit.
Our classes are taught by a team of instructors to ensure that each student gets the one-on-one attention they deserve. We intentionally keep our class sizes small. Not everyone learns at the same pace and some require more attention than others. Take our class and you won’t be disappointed you did. In fact, we GUARANTEE it! Don’t pass or think you got the level of instruction you expected, we will refund your money. That is how sure we are of our level of instruction!
This is course that will allow you to carry your handgun in several states (36 states at last count) in addition to Tennessee! You will also be allowed to carry open or concealed with this permit.
The State of Tennessee requires this class before filing an application for a handgun carry permit. The permit is required to legally carry a loaded handgun on your person outside of your vehicle. As a student enrolled in the Tennessee Handgun Carry Class, you will learn about handgun nomenclature, function, operation, handgun safety, cleaning, storage, and the legal liabilities of carrying a handgun. You will also learn about carrying a handgun, ammunition malfunctions, and we will review loading and unloading, along with the fundamentals of handgun shooting.
The state requires a passing score of 70% or higher on both the written and range test. There is no practice or warm up shooting. You must come prepared to shoot a total of 50 rounds from three distances – 3 yards, 5 yards, and 7 yards. The successful completion of this course will enable the student to file an application with the state for a Handgun Carry Permit.
Dragon Tactical takes pride in high quality and safe handgun permit training. We teach this course per the guidelines of the State of Tennessee. Our primary focus of this class is to instill in our students the proper knowledge, skill sets and mental attitude to carry a handgun legally in the State of Tennessee.
The price INCLUDES EVERYTHING you need. No additional cost for range rental, gun rental, eye/ear protection, or ammo!
Testimonials from Our Students
“Great class and instructors! Worth the money! You get 100 out of 100!”
“Mike was patient and very polite, welcomed all questions with straight forward answers and took his time with everyone in the class.”
“Mike was a phenomenal and thorough instructor. He made me feel less nervous and more confident as the day progressed. Mike is extremely knowledgeable, yet humble, and the class flew by! 10/10 !!”
“Small class size which allows for as much needed one on one time anyone wants or needs. Clear concise instructions with safety as the top priority. Our class had everything from those who hadn’t ever shot to experienced shooter. Everyone was treated with same level of courtesy and attention. I’m looking forward to taking more advanced classes from Mike and his crew.”
What You Need to Do TO GET STARTED:
Register For Class
The first step is to reserve your seat in the class. You must register in advance. Please do NOT just show up at the training. Click the Orange "Register for the Class" button below.
BEGIN PERMIT APPLICATION
You will need to register with the state of Tennessee and get an application number. Once you register for our class, you will receive an email with instructions on how to do this.
You will receive classroom and range training on all required material to qualify for a Tennessee Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit.
COMPLETE PERMIT PROCESS
Complete the process with the Driver License Station. Pay for permit. Get fingerprinted.
Within 90 days, often within 10-15 business days, you will receive your permit in the mail.
These are useful resources for students attending our Carry Permit course as well as great references for everyone who carries a firearm.
- Next Steps After I Have Taken the Class
- Do TN Residents Still Need a Carry Permit?
- TN Enhanced Handgun Permit Course Student Guide
- States Who Recognize a TN Carry Permit
- Begin Application for an Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit with the TN DOS – (to be completed after you register for our class)
- TN Handgun Permit Fees & Renewals
- TN Carry Permit Eligibility Requirements
- American Gun Statistics
FrequEntly Asked Questions
Although the state passed permit-less carry, an Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit is still required to carry a handgun in certain areas such as parks, lakes, rivers, campgrounds, etc. You can learn more in an article we posted here: https://dragontacticalinternational.com/2022/01/07/why-tennessee-residents-may-be-breaking-the-law-carrying-a-handgun-without-an-enhanced-handgun-permit/
There are really no advantages to the Concealed Carry Permit. With an Enhanced Permit, you receive in-person training in both classroom as well as firearms instruction on a range from professional certified firearms instructors.
Furthermore, the Enhanced Permit will allow you to carry places where neither the Concealed Permit nor Permit-less Carry will allow.
For this reason, we encourage everyone to get the Enhanced Permit.
Yes. We are limited on class size by the state of Tennessee. So, we need to know in advance how many students will be attending. It is simple to register for our class by clicking any of the buttons on this page directing you to register for the class.
We do provide use of a .22lr pistol and ammunition as part of the class fee. These guns are very accurate and are maintained by our staff. If you absolutely insist on using your own firearm you may, but we have a few requests. Please no Single Action Revolvers as it takes too long to load and unload for the required 50 round course. Also, we will need to inspect the firearm for safety considerations.
While we prefer to have students all registered in advance, we understand some do not use online payments. In such cases, please contact us in advance and we will make arrangements for you.
Please be sure to dress appropriately for the weather. Brass ejected from the weapon after firing is EXTREMELY HOT! For this reason, please do not wear an open top shirt or open-toe shoes. We encourage students to wear a button up shirt, pants, and closed-toe shoes.
We provide eye and hearing protection at no charge. If you already have it, you are welcome to utilize your own.
We also allow eye glasses or sun glasses for eye protection as well. The main thing is to have something to protect from spent shell casings from coming into contact with your eyes.
For hearing, ear plugs or muffs are both allowed. For those with none, we will provide ear plugs.
No. The state does not require you to qualify with the same handgun you intend to carry.
Yes. We will take a lunch break of approximately 30 minutes. We encourage students to bring a bag lunch so you are not rushing, but fast food restaurants are also close by.
We also provide fresh donuts and water as well.
We work really hard to ensure our students are prepared for the written exam as well as the shooting requirements. In the event, you do not pass, we will allow you to attend another course at no charge.
Fortunately, we have a 100% pass rate and this has never been an issue!
Our instructors have worked with countless individuals with zero experience with a firearm. Because we use .22lr handguns, it really reduces the fear as well as the felt recoil. Through learning proper techniques, you will be able to gain confidence quickly and earn your handgun carry permit.
Classroom & Range Location
For convenience, all training is conducted at the Greene County Range & Firearms Sports Complex. We have a great classroom and outstanding range facilities onsite. We will train rain or shine due to having a covered area for shooting to keep you dry in any rain. The only consideration is keeping warm on a cool day, so dress appropriately.
Ready to Get Your TN Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit?
You MUST be registered for our class in advance. We periodically need to reschedule a training class and have no way to keep you updated unless we know you are attending. We register our students on the shootingclasses.com website below which is a great resource for our school. Just click the “Register for the Class” button below to save your seat.